On Top of the World

Top of the mountain painting

This is a sketch inspired by Sunday’s trip to the mountain. It will probably take me a while to process the experience, and it will appear in one way or another in different guises in my work.

The themes in this work are relevant to 16 Days of Activism, which is why I’ve posted it here. The trip was an attempt to find clarity, to make sense of my world, and to deal with my past. The last time I drove to the top of that mountain was with my ex-husband, and the memory of my relationship with him is deeply embedded in that narrow, steep road to the top.

I feel strangely drawn to mountains. We have an expression, to feel on top of the world, and that’s what I was looking for. To stand on top of a mountain, to feel on top of the world, is to feel both free and in control. It is to gaze out upon the world in the confidence that you have some power to shape your own destiny. You cannot control everything, because you are not God, but you are not a victim. You have agency.

Far too many people in this country, especially women and children, feel helpless. They are victims who must rely on others who all too often mistreat, or neglect them. If more of them felt as if they were on top of the world, South Africa would be a better place.

This entry was published on December 5, 2012 at 4:30 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

